## Midway Extension District #15 January 10, 2025 Meeting Minutes Zoom, 6:30pm

The regular monthly meeting of the Midway Extension District board meeting was called to order by President Gaylon Walter on January 10, 2025 at 6:30pm. Board members present were Marcia Blundon, Gunnar Hays, Justin Hlaus, Julie Nienke, Virginia Vetter and Amy Westerman. Jessica Kootz, Craig Dinkel, Clinton Laflin and Karrie Van Winkle were also present.

Amy Westerman moved to approve the agenda as presented, Julie Nienke seconded and the vote passed unanimously. Amy Westerman moved to approve the consent agenda items and Virginia Vetter seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

All agents presented their monthly reports. Virginia Vetter moved to approve agent reports, Justin Hlaus seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

In unfinished business, Marcia Blundon moved to approve Stephen Bradshaw, Daniel Cook and Carrie Raymer to be 4-H Volunteers. Virginia Vetter seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Jessica Kootz discussed new subscription fees for Quickbooks as the system is going through updates. Discussion has been tabled to the next month so more information can be gathered from bank.

Jessica Kootz and Gaylon Walters discussed Midway District goals for the 2025 year are:

- 1. Water where agents and staff will work with Stacie Minson and relative organizations to partner on the "Know Your Water" program.
- 2. Childcare where agents and staff will work with community stakeholders to bring new childcare options to the area and/or enhance existing options through relevant trainings.
- 3. Marketing where agents and staff will work collaboratively to enhance outreach by marketing to non-extension users.

Justin Hlaus moved to approve the Midway District goals for the 2025 year. Marcia Blundon seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

In new business, Amy Westerman moved to nominate Gaylon Walter as Chair for the upcoming year. Marcia Blundon seconded and the motion passed unanimously. Amy Westerman moved to nominate Gunnar Hays as Vice-Chair for the upcoming year. Virginia Vetter seconded and the motion passed unanimously. Virginia Vetter moved to nominate Amy Westerman as secretary for the upcoming year. Julie Nienke seconded and the motion passed unanimously. Amy Westerman moved to elect Gaylon Walter as Chair, Gunnar Hays as Vice Chair, and Amy Westerman as Secretary for the 2025 year. Julie Nienke seconded and the motion carried.

Jessica Kootz lead the board in reviewing the Kansas State Research and Extension Memorandum of Understanding. Amy Westerman moved to have the board sign the Memorandum of Understanding. Marcia Blundon seconded and the motion passed.

Jessica Kootz discussed that the Midway District the GAAP Resolution Waiver for Extension Districts. Gunnar Hays moved to accept our GAAP Wavier. Amy Westerman seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Jessica Kootz discussed the Midway District Funds Depository which is currently with Citizens State Bank & Trust. Marcia Blundon moved to continue to use Citizens State Bank and Trust as the district's funds depository. Virginia Vetter seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

2025 Meeting Dates were discussed which are currently held on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each month. Amy Westerman moved to continue to hold meetings on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Thursday of each month but winter months will have a start time at 6:00pm and summer months starting at 6:30pm. Gunnar Hays seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Jessica Kootz presented the Midway District Inventory to the board and highlighted technology needs. AAA moved to approve the Midway District Inventory. Virginia Vetter seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Karrie Van Winkle applied to Dane G. Hansen Northwest Region 4-H Day Camp Grant. This will help cover project fairs and other day camps run by Junior Leaders in both Ellsworth and Russell counties. Virginia Vetter moved to approve the Dane G. Hansen Day Camp grant for both Ellsworth and Russell counties. Amy Westerman seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Virginia Vetter moved to adjourn the meeting and Amy Westerman seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Gaylon Walter, President	
Amy Westerman, Secretary	